safety award logo

Safety initiatives often fly under the radar, less razzle-dazzle than guest relations or marketing campaigns, yet equally important to the industry in retention, conversion and overall growth.  Ski areas across the nation compete in six categories and the risk and safety departments aim to be just as inventive and interactive as their retail branding counterparts.  The safety awards highlight the creative, innovative, and tried-and-true methods that keep guests and employees safe on the mountain.

Past Safety Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 Safety Award Finalists

Thanks to all who joined us at the 2022 NSAA Awards Ceremony during our National Convention in Nashville, TN, May 14.

Best Overall Safety Program

  • Winner: Gore Mountain, NY
  • Taos Ski Valley, NM
  • Whitefish Mountain Resort, MT

Best Employee Safety Program

  • Winner: Breckenridge, CO     

Best Guest Safety Program

  • Winner: Eldora Mountain Resort, CO  
  • Copper Mountain Resort, CO
  • Killington Mountain Resort, VT

Safety Champion

  • Winner: Kaitlyn Schwalbe, Guest Service Manager, Snowbasin Resort, UT  
  • Bob Piede, Safety Office Manager, Holiday Valley, NY  
  • Mark Roberts, Health and Safety Supervisor, Gore Mountain, NY  

Thank you to our 2022 Safety Awards Sponsor, Safehold Special Risk.