Saturday, May 05, 2018

MARCO ISLAND, Fla., May 5, 2018—The National Ski Areas Association announced the seven winners of the organization’s annual Safety Awards today during the NSAA National Convention and Tradeshow, being held this week in Marco Island, Fla.

The awards, sponsored by Safehold Special Risk, recognize exceptional resort initiatives to educate guests and employees about skiing and snowboarding responsibly.

Here are the winners of the NSAA 2017-18 National Safety Awards:

Best Overall Safety Program
(500,000 or more visits)
Mammoth Mountain, Calif.

Best Overall Safety Program
(Under 500,000 visits)
Snowbasin Resort, Utah

Best Employee Safety Program
Squaw Valley | Alpine Meadows, Calif.

Best Guest Safety Program
Gore Mountain, NY

Safety Impact Award
California Ski Industry Association

Best Ride Another Day Program
Copper Mountain, Colo.

Safety Champion
Katherine Schifani, Vail Mountain

The winning programs will be highlighted in the summer issue of the NSAA Journal. For more information on the awards or other NSAA safety education initiatives, please visit the Safety and Education section of